Thread: Sinking line advice

Default Sinking line advice

Hi all

I'm going on a trip to Zambia for tiger fishing in August. I'm new to fly fishing and I'm struggling to get the right advice on which sinking line I should use.

I have a 5/6 xplore classic with the xpla II reel.

Any advice would be appreciated

Tx

Hi there,

In my experience, a sink tip line is much nicer to use than a full sinking line because the floating running line does not tangle as easily and the line can be mended a bit too.

On the last trip i used the airflo depthfinder 400 grain sink tip, but i think this might just snap your 5/6wt if you tried to cast it (your rod might be a bit light for the large and medium sized tigers). You could also get away with the 200grain depthfinder which might be a bit more manageable on your outfit. It is still a pretty fast sinker.

If you don't want to use the sink tip option, i have lso ued the Airflo Sixth Sense Di7 for tigerfish which works well. The non stretch in the line will help you setting the hooks when the fish takes.
    "So hereís my point. Donít go and get your ego all out of proportion because you can tie a fly and catch a fish thatís dumb enough to eat a car key.." - Louis Cahill - Gink and Gasoline

Wow thanks for the advice

I also have a 8/9 with sinking line on it but the 8/9 is a heavy bugga, and I find fatigue sets in pretty quick. I'm gonna take both rods with me.

The heavy line for the 5/6 should also be able to catch bass and trout....

Will the di7 from airflow do the job?

Fly fishing is expensive so I'm trying to acquire line for various species and circumvent buying line of every type of fresh water fish out there.

Let me know if di7 will be the correct choice

One word of advise with sinking line.Have a few practice casts on a field somewhere before you go on your trip.You will soon realize there is a casting adjustment needed with these line to make them work for you.It helps little to have the right line but wrong use.