Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Sage One #3 7'6 teamed with a Waterworks Lamson Lightspeed 1,5

Default Sage One #3 7'6 teamed with a Waterworks Lamson Lightspeed 1,5

Hi guys I'm a newbie, and am looking at getting this setup for small stream trout and yellows. Ur thoughts & opinions will be appreciated.
    N

Any takers?

get an 8 footer and the lamson 1

The One is that length will be a horrible stream rod imho. try the ZXL or TXL-F maybe ....
    Mario Geldenhuys
    Smallstream fanatic, plus I do some other things that I can't tell you about

"All the tips or magical insights in the world can't replace devotion, dedication, commitment, and gumption - and there is not secret in that" - Glenn Brackett

Agree. Not the best stream setup.
    You say that you're a newbie... so tell us how much stream fishing you have done, your preferred stream, ie. trout yellows etc., and how you best plan on fishing the stream ie. dry, nymph, short casts long casts etc etc...as much information as possible will help in getting more informed responses.
    Also, why this particular setup?
    Last edited by Andre; 06-08-12 at 10:41 AM.
    Disclaimer.... none of my posts are intended to be "expert advice"..just opinions from someone who is willing to help where he can.

Quote Originally Posted by Nellie View Post
    Hi guys I'm a newbie, and am looking at getting this setup for small stream trout and yellows. Ur thoughts & opinions will be appreciated.
    N
    7'6" is too short. Rather go for a 8'6" or even 9'. Better allround 3wt length.

While the ONE may be overkill for small trout, it is a better choice than a TXL(-F), which will be too light for SM.
    Since you can currently pick up a 8'6" TXL for half a ONE & this is a good compromise rod, you might want to look into this.

I disagree about the Litespeed. It is a nice reel, but you don't want the 1, as someone suggested, the 1.5 (or even the 2 for me) would be a far better choice.