Thread: Grunters, prawns, rapalas and the myth

Default Grunters, prawns, rapalas and the myth

Let me start off by admitting that I am no expert with Grunter.
    There are plenty other fly fishers that have caught many more and are far more experienced than me.

This is a condensed conversation I had with a fisherman that fishes estauries for grunter and his experiences.
    He lives on an estaury in the southern Cape and fishes 3 to 4 times a week for all species.

He reckons all the "hoo-ha" about grunter is a lot of bollocks.
    According to him they are easy. Especially when they are tailing.

He says the most important part with tailing grunter is a lure or fly that disturbs the mud.
    He used the example of Rapala with a lip that digs in.
    Your fly or lure should disturb the bottom. As you retrieve the it should look like a prawn that tries to dig itself in and "kicks up some mud"
    He reckons a small rapala is the best.
    Cast past the grunter so that it does not spook.
    Retrieve slowly and when close to the grunter retrieve faster so that the rapala dives and digs into the mud and kicks up a cloud.
    The grunter darts to the "escaping prawn" and sucks it in.

As said in my first sentence, I am not an expert, but the general reasoning makes sense.

What do the forumers say about above?
    Maybe the secret is to tie flies that will kick up a bit of mud.
    Korrie Broos

Don't go knocking on Death's door, ring the bell and run like hell. He hates it. (anon)
    Nymphing, adds depth to your fly fishing.
    Nymphing, is fly fishing in another dimension