Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Advice please...

Wink Advice please...

Hello,

My name's Philip and I'm an alcoh... er, sorry, I'm a flyfisherman. :wink:

I live in the Midlands of Natal, in the Kamberg, on a farm with two lovely dams. Because I'm a freelance writer, I can live almost anywhere as long as there's a wi-fi connection.

Here's my question: In early November, we stocked the dams with rainbows around 350 grams. The first two weeks they were rising and throwing themselves out of the water throughout the day, which is to be expected. But since late December, there's not been a movement on the water, and I mean nothing! No early morning or late evening rises, and nothing throughout the day... What's happening? Anyone like to hazard a guess? I'm stumped...

Thanks.

Well fed otters?

stumped aswell...just a few thoughts
    size of dam, comarants, otters, bass, catfish, inflow and outflow of dam, water tempuratures, few 350gr or lots, netters, did you physically witness the stocking

Water temp and oxygen levels.

What is secret coming to live water temp for trout? 16 degrees?

What is the depth of the dams?
    too shallow and the water gets to warm and the fish have no where to go and just die.
    you need depth, I would say at least 6meters. to make sure the bottom stays cool enough for the fish to survive in hot times.
    Korrie Broos

Don't go knocking on Death's door, ring the bell and run like hell. He hates it. (anon)
    Nymphing, adds depth to your fly fishing.
    Nymphing, is fly fishing in another dimension

Quote Originally Posted by Fossil View Post
    I live in the Midlands of Natal, in the Kamberg, on a farm with two lovely dams.

Here's my question: In early November, we stocked the dams with rainbows around 350 grams.
    What was in the dam prior to stocking the trout??
    Mario Geldenhuys
    Smallstream fanatic, plus I do some other things that I can't tell you about