Thread: Identifying your catch

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Default Identifying your catch

Hi Guys, if any of you need a fish identified, post a pic in this thread and i'll do my best to identify it. I am an Ichthyology student and we have the biggest library of fish literature in the southern hemisphere at our disposal right down the road.
    What's more, i really enjoy helping people out with IDing fish- it helps me learn because i often have to research it first. I'll try add some interesting facts too.
    Working off photo's is a challenge, but I love it!
    If you get pics of any cool insects, i can try look those up too as i'm also studying entomology.
    I should be able to ID the insects at least to family level, and i'll try find something interesting about them too.

Hope to see some pics soon!
    Cheers
    Carl

Thanks for the offer. I hope we can keep you busy.
    Behold the fisherman. he riseth early in the morning and disturbeth the whole household. mighty are his preperations. he goes forth full of hope and when the day is ended, he returneth smelling of strong drink and the truth is not with him. originator unknown.

my stuff.... http://www.flytalk.co.za/forum/album.php?u=824[/SIZE]

Calling Richy FishFingers: Boet please put those pics up up those kingies, really wanna know what's what and who's who. Shot.
    Around the steel no tortur'd worm shall twine, No blood of living insect stain my line;
    Let me, less cruel, cast feather'd hook, With pliant rod athwart the pebbled brook,
    Silent along the mazy margin stray, And with fur-wrought fly delude the prey

Hi,

I caught a strange-looking fish that I have yet to identify. Don't have a photo, unfortunately.