Page 1 of 9 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 LastLast

Thread: Building a Sage XP Rod

Default Building a Sage XP Rod UPDATED 04/12/2006

DISCLAIMER - THIS IS NOT A "HOW TO BUILD A ROD" THREAD. I AM A COMPLETE BEGINNER, HAVING NEVER DONE THIS BEFORE. I AM RELYING ON ADVICE AND COMMENTARY FROM OTHER MORE EXPERIENCED PEOPLE. THIS THREAD IS THUS MERELY TO TRACK THE PROGRESS OF THIS PROJECT AND FOR YOUR INTEREST AND COMMENTS.

Well today I am a very lucky boy. Around 12 days ago I ordered a new camera, a waterproof Pentax Optio W20, which I bought especially to take fishing with me. It arrived today, so you can expect a lot more fishing pics from me in future, because in the past, it was too much of a schlep to take my other camera with me and try to keep it dry. The Pentax is purpose designed and so I can't wait to take it out on the water, and shove it under the water for that matter !

But I digress, I'm already off topic. The reason for starting this thread is that my pet project also arrived today - a Sage XP 8'6" 5wt 4pc blank along with all the other goodies required to build it into a near factory spec rod, along with a few of my own little cosmetic customisations.

Let me be upfront that this project was inspired purely from the jealousy of having seen Chris and Neil's 000's being built up with such good results! For some reason, before this the thought never even occurred to me to built up my own rod, and so with their inspiration this project begins.