Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Thread: Only One Fly... ??

Cool Only One Fly... ??

I was fishing this weekend at our family farm and know these waters by heart, I was surprised to see that only one of my flies produce the goods (Blackfly Larvae) Throughout the day I swapped the Blackfly from point to dropper and used a lot of fly variations that I know works for these waters but for some reason the Blackfly was the ONLY one that got the fish. Now my question is why this pattern? I’ve been fishing these waters for the past 5 years and this is the first time that I experience this. I must also admit that I tied the larva fly with an orange head using dubbing for the first time just to see if it will initiate more takes.. I got a lot more than what I bargained for, but still-only one fly??

I rate it is the orange hot spot more than anything else.
    No PAIN No Gain

Buzzer fishing can be the most prodcutive fishing ever, try some other buzzer patterns as well. Also recommend that you debarb, can help if you hook yourself. Speaking from experience
    Korrie Broos

Don't go knocking on Death's door, ring the bell and run like hell. He hates it. (anon)
    Nymphing, adds depth to your fly fishing.
    Nymphing, is fly fishing in another dimension

Blackfly larvae are totally underrated fishing-wise - probably mainly because the imitations don't attract the purchasers in a flyshop as much as they do the fish on the river! I agree with comments - your imitation would look like a combo b'fly larva imitation with a bit of an orange racing stripe to add a bit of 'zest' - sounds a good little fly! Of course the chironomid 'buzzers' are separate family with different habits, but yours at a push could well be used as a general 'attractor/imitator' for both

Quote Originally Posted by dleroux View Post