Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread: NZ Vacation

Thumbs up NZ Vacation

Hi, I'm new to fly fishing. Going on vacation to NZ over Dec/Jan. Booked a camper for a self drive vacation.

Any advice for a complete novice? Will have access to boats while in Auckland so advice on saltwater and fresh water places to fish, flies etc would help.

Also has customs an issue with flies; heard they're strict and would not like to have a issue before the holiday begins?

Will be visiting North and South Islands and don't have much time over there so would like to make it count by pre-planning the trip.

Thanks, Jono

Quote Originally Posted by Jono View Post
    Hi, I'm new to fly fishing. Going on vacation to NZ over Dec/Jan. Booked a camper for a self drive vacation.

Any advice for a complete novice? Will have access to boats while in Auckland so advice on saltwater and fresh water places to fish, flies etc would help.

Also has customs an issue with flies; heard they're strict and would not like to have a issue before the holiday begins?

Will be visiting North and South Islands and don't have much time over there so would like to make it count by pre-planning the trip.

Thanks, Jono
    HI Jono

I know that N.Z. customs are very strict regarding what comes into the country. Cant see them allowing flies through. Best would be from Kevin Elliot or guys who fished there in competitions.

Dave
    Handle every situation like a dog.- If you cant hump it, piss on it and walk away. --JASPER.

Hi Jono,

Some million dollar questions there. Regarding flies, yes you can bring them, but I suggest that you declare them on arrival. Fly tying materials such as feathers and furs are a no-no, but once they are tied into flies they are OK. Make sure your boots are clean unless you want them taken away and washed for you.