Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Mullet on a light flyrod in a salt river mouth

Default Mullet on a light flyrod in a salt river mouth

Hi guys. Im new to flytalk, as well as flyfishing really! I started about 3 weeks ago, and so far I have caught 11 rainbows. i am hooked on it now and i really want to broaden my species count. I have a house at Stilbaai and I i often use my thrownet to catch mullet for livebait. I have caught huuuuge ones in my net and really want to catch them on fly. Which flies should i use guys??? flying ants? gnats? bread imitations?

Cheers guys
    Christopher

Sorry, forgot this is freshwater. once off. can you guys help?? cheers

phew...just started fly fishing 3 weeks ago,....11 rainbows so far. firstly, let me say welcome to the site....secondly,....11 rainbows.....respect
    mullet on fly....bread flies work a charm, depends on how much of a purist you are, there is nothing wrong with a spray or three of anchovy to create a chum line. there is a thread on mullet you can search for. the normal way is to tie a bread fly and then chum with small pieces of bread and voila.....
    eish, 11 rainbows in 3 weeks of learning FF....well done, but please help me..
    Behold the fisherman. he riseth early in the morning and disturbeth the whole household. mighty are his preperations. he goes forth full of hope and when the day is ended, he returneth smelling of strong drink and the truth is not with him. originator unknown.

my stuff.... http://www.flytalk.co.za/forum/album.php?u=824[/SIZE]

THanks rols, appreciated. I love your quote! haha. What is the best way to imitate bread??? white marabou feathers or something? tied in a bunch? what materials??
    The thing is... I am not lying when I say i caught 11 rainbows....(i know you didnt accuse me, im just saying).... they WERE in my school dam which is stocked.....but i guess that doesnt really change the fact that i caught them does it? stream fishing is obviously much harder i guess.....