Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Best flies, line, tippets for Blacktail and others

Default Best flies, line, tippets for Blacktail and others

Hi guys. im new to the salt water flyfishing, well fresh too really. and i have a few questions. I am really keen to catch blacktail or wildeperd on fly. I have caught some very nice ones on 6ft6b bass rod and mussel with no sinker, only a swivel. even picked up a galjoen like that when i cast only 4m. next challenge for me....fly.. should i use worm imitations like the bloodworm fly? or what will work for them??? rod? 6wt? 7wt?? help guys....

Cheers
    chris

Mate, I'm not sure exactly where you are located, but living in Natal in the past we nailed them in the foamy washes close to gulleys.

In those days Clousers were the go to fly.
    Charteuse and white were the go to pattern fished on sinking lines. We were definitely the freaks of nature casting fly lines amongst the koolies and blokes fishing for shad.

The trick was to fish them sporadically......strip......pause strip...strip....stripppppppp. Get the fly down.
    Takes were oten taken on the drop and on dark flies predominantly.......black and white and white / chartreuse with flash.

We used to get some good ones around the really foamy washes and often picked up shad as well.

If you could get past the bait blokes and get some space to yourself you'd be in in with a chance.
    Fortunatelt 'Toti in those days we had half a chance of some decent fishing.

Fishing Mollies pool often resulted in some good catches....enough for gran to cook!
    Last edited by Kevin James; 15-08-08 at 05:58 PM. Reason: ****ed up the post

Quote Originally Posted by Dogtooth View Post
    Mate, I'm not sure exactly where you are located, but living in Natal in the past we nailed them in the foamy washes close to gulleys.

In those days Clousers were the go to fly.