Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread: De Mond

Default De Mond

Hi guys.

I am going down to Struisbaai this holiday (23 Des - 2 Jan). Want to try some fishing at de mond. Have never fished in the salt before so I need alot of help please!

I am sommer going to use my 6wt 'vaal' rod (Do not have a salty outfit). So please tell me what to do...

What knots should I use to tie the leader onto the flyline? Should I use floating or sinking fly line? What leaders (length, breakage etc) do I use for the salt? Can I use strong (0x) tapered monofilament? What is a shock tippet and should I use it? What knots do I use to tie my fly on?

What flies should I buy (i'm a student... so I can only buy a few good ones...) and what techniques should I use? What species will I target? Where is the best fishing spots? When should I fish here?

And is there any other great fishing spots around that area that I should check out?

Thanks guys! Looking forward to throwing my first fly into the salt!

You ask a lot of questions jacques, and I think you will proably have to decide what species you want to target, before you can really expect to get meaningfull answers. One thing I can tell you, is that your 6wt Vaal rod, is probably going to be inadequate, as the flies you will need to cast will need a rod with considerably more backbone, as you will probably be fishing into some wind. I would reccommend a 8 or 9wt, for the leeries, a 7 or 8 wt for the grunter, and mullet.

Hi Jacques,

1 - Nail knot for the leader to fly line
    2 - Floating mainly, but take sinking/intermediate with just in case
    3 - 9FT leader is fine for salt, some use shorter, you can use 0X, no problems
    4 - You will not be needing a shock tippet for De Mond, so not going into that
    5 - best knot will be non slip loop knot so that the fly has more movement
    6 - Flies - Flippers, woolhead mullet, and some deceivers and clousers.