Thread: Composite Developments Rods

Default Composite Developments Rods

Hi guys, I bought myself a CD rod. Are they any good? I am new to Saltwater flying(is there such a word??) Its a 9foot 6inch 9weight Kiwi 2000. Opinions please!
    Brian

I dont know that model but CD make some fantastic rods so im sure its good

/d
    What ever you do never confuse Fishing With catching Fish !!!!
    Fish Are Friends Not Food

But your reasoning has a fatal flaw; it overlooks the fact that to comprehend it requires that one rub a few brain cells against each other. The heat thus generated produces the light that illuminates the fact, but alas, not everybody has the resource required to fuel the process --SG

They tried their best to become something of abrand, but it never quite gotoff the ground.

The rods are very strong and have a very fast action, that rod should thow a tight loop and should be best suited for fishing in the surf.
    Mike McKeown

You're either fishing or waiting...

Composite Development rods are actually quite a good brand.

They have been around for at least 15 years and are a true New Zealand success story.

There used to be a mob in Port Elizabeth that had the rights for South Africa, but I think something might have happened to distribution with them - don't know the history.

Composite, affectionately known as Compost Rods make some great sticks. They are fast action and I have fished a few of my mates sticks whilst in NZ on the yellowtail.

They are bloody tough.....that I can tell you.
    We were at a fishing lodge and one of the blokes was buggering around with the rod inside and put his stick into the ceiling fan. Needless to say it was a calamity, but in this instance only the guides were ripped off. I'm not kidding!
    He managed to get a half arsed job repair so he could fish it and it worked fine for the week.

Look after it and I'm sure it'll perform well!