Thread: Orkney for Yellows

Default Orkney for Yellows

Hi
    I’m relatively new to fly fishing and got few trout to date but want to see if I can get some yellows. I’ll be working on the mines near Orkney and was wondering if anyone perhaps knew about good accommodation on the river with good spots for yellows or of some good spots near Orkney where I can go and try for Yellows, not too far from Orkney?
    What flies would also work well and what should one look for?
    Thanks
    Regards
    Ruan

Wag 'n Bietjie Eco Farm?
    Daryl Human

The solution to any problem -- work, love, money, whatever -- is to go fishing, and the worse the problem, the longer the trip should be. --John Gierach

hey man! orkney is usually a good area for yellows and if you use the search function on the top tab, you should find lots of info on the area. wrt accomodation maybe someone could help here? or just search on the net and see whats available on the river.

flies are the same or at least similar to other spots on the vaal and once again the search function will be you guide here.

id take tan/olive and black mayfly sizes 12-16
    some copper johns in red/black sizes 12-16 for droppers
    san juan worm has always been good to me size 16
    hotspot ptn seems to work for others sizes 12-16 i reckon
    chartreuse rockworm patterns sizes 10-16
    and olive/chartreuse/mustard/tan caddis weighted sizes 8-16 (i use a size 6 every now and then too)

just make sure ur flies are on the bottom!!!

this is just a start and my opinion only...but that should cover most situations.

when will you be there?

Firstly welcome to the forums.
    If you are going to be working on the mines in Orkney, I presume you will be staying close by.
    There are a lot of venues within 45 minutes drive or less from Orkney.
    Wawielpark, near Stillfontein
    Oord Nebo
    Woelwaters
    Elgro
    Schoemansdrift
    Wag 'n Bietjie