Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Commercial fish farming

Default Commercial fish farming

I've been offered the opportunity to start a commercial fishery in the North West province.

My choices looks like it will be Catfish or Tilapia although I'm rather leaning towards Tilapia. It is a 6ha piece of land and I have free reign ito dams to be built etc. There is enough water and no river run offs so river "contamination" of the species is not a problem.

I have some experience and knowledge of commercial Koi farming and ornamental fish farming but this might be an entirely different kettle of fish (pun intended)

Anyone got experience in this or can point me in the right direction?
    Fishing is just my thing. I don't know what it is but it seems that i just can't get enough of it.

Actually bass would also be an option but not sure if it is a viable one
    Fishing is just my thing. I don't know what it is but it seems that i just can't get enough of it.

Two forum members with such experience: Fontuin and Stephen Louw
    Bryan Williams

“My Biggest worry is that my wife will sell my fishing gear for what I said I paid for it!”

Check out my albums

Werner, my nephew did his PhD in fishfarming Catfish. They are apparently the most viable specie.

Google Louw (or Louwtjie ) Hoffman. ( We have not been in contact for over 20 years . )

There is or was a commercial operation just outside Hoedspruit, I made a turn there once. Very interesting indeed.Again the focus was on Catfish, smoked.
    Every gram he could produce was exported to the States or Japan.
    He also did Tilapia and Bass, the Tilapia for the locals, and bass for sale as fingerlings.
    It's not in the catching, it's in the learning something new.
    view albums at. http://www.flytalk.co.za/forum/album.php?u=659

Thanks Herman, that's great to know. I'll try and track him down.

Quote Originally Posted by wernerm View Post