Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Yellow Fever claims another!!

Default Yellow Fever claims another!!

Hi There to all my fellow fly fishers! (It's so cool to finally be able to say that)

My name is Scott Murray and I'm currently a student at Wits (final year hopefully) and have been reading TCFF for a while now and have always loved the idea of fly fishing but never knew how to get into it.

Anyway, eventually I started asking around and a stranger offered to take my girlfriend and I fishing for Yellows on the Vaal.

Long story short, I caught my first ever small mouth yellow on a D.D.D. and I'm officially hooked. Not just on fly fishing for yellows, but the entire sport.. the people, the ethos... EVERYTHING.
    I hope to get to know you all a lot better both through the forum and out on the water.
    "Soon after I embraced the sport of angling I became convinced that I should never be able to enjoy it if I had to rely on the cooperation of the fish" - Sparse Grey Hackle (Alfred W. Miller)

a very warm welcome on a chilly Joburg day Scott.

What is it that you are studying? (I mean at Wits)

Welcome Scott. Good to have you on board.

BTW who was the stranger ??????????

He needs to be acknowledged.
    It's not in the catching, it's in the learning something new.
    view albums at. http://www.flytalk.co.za/forum/album.php?u=659

Quote Originally Posted by BenzoV View Post

Hi BenzoV

Thanks for the warm welcome.. it is indeed rather chilly. I'm doing my honours in Actuarial Science. So for the moment I have to keep connected to fishing through mags and forums.. but hopefully when I qualify I can put a lot more time in on the water.

What do you do?
    "Soon after I embraced the sport of angling I became convinced that I should never be able to enjoy it if I had to rely on the cooperation of the fish" - Sparse Grey Hackle (Alfred W. Miller)

Quote Originally Posted by BenzoV View Post

Hi BenzoV