Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: starting off....

Default starting off....

morning guys

im glad i stumbled upon this awesome forum, i read through a few threads and must say there is ALOT of info available.
    Im not sure where to start ?

I used to 'papgooi' few years ago when i still had the time to fish. But then the speciman angling wave hit me but throwing in a line and waiting for a carp to bite doesnt excite me that much anymore,its just not interactive enough for me, i saw alot of fly fishing vids on the net and also on some tv programs and i have decided thats exactly the type of fishing i want to get into.

As a total beginner, what type of make should i aim for when buying a rod? Also what type of rod? Then also what reels?Should i start with some tutorials?
    Lastly what other components do i need to kick off my fly fishing lifestyle...... ( mostly gear i guess)

cheers

Chopper

Charlie..

Be a bit more specific.

If you want to fish in fresh water and mostly yellows and carp and mostly in summer. A 5 weight rod with matching floating line and reel will cover all your needs in the begining. What brand of tackle you use us up to your wallet and ego.

Wading boots do help allot. I suget you go fishing a couple of times before spending big bucks on itens such as boots, waders, float tubes and boats.

Welcome here and to the sport, the learning curve is steep but fun.
    Last edited by AB1; 04-07-12 at 09:37 AM.
    Our tradition is that of the first man who sneaked away to the creek when the tribe did not really need fish."

~by Roderick Haig-Brown

Blog Entries

Good day Chopper,

I reckon first come up with a budget...and also tell us where you stay...then we continue from there!

Don't buy anything yet. Get someone to take you fly fishing, and perhaps join a club. There are many different fly fishing disciplines, and they all require their own equipment, with a few overlaps, so be carefull.