Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Looking for a helpful hand in the Cape?!

Default Looking for a helpful hand in the Cape?!

Dear All,

I have been fishing ever since I can remember; but only recently have I been able to give this art/science of flyfishing a go! Its exciting to be challenged while fishing in such a different way to the challenges I am used to!

I am currently a Masters student at the University of Cape Town and as a result I have some time this summer to get to learn the streams of the Cape. I am a recent member of the Cape Piscatorial Society, and am simply looking for someone to help me learn the streams and possibly help me with basic casting (when I am doing something seriously wrong!). I have a lovely new rod set on a vintage reel; I have been working on my roll and basic pick-up casting, and I am super keen to see if I can catch some trout in the Cape streams!

I live in Cape Town and will be happy to pay for petrol out to the beats so long as I can learn from someone who is willing and able to teach me a few tricks of the trade. I am not able to fish on Wednesdays, but any other day of the week I am completely free and would love to get a lot of fishing done this summer. Hopefully I can progress quickly to a point where I can hold my own in a fishing group. Fishing alone is always not wonderful, and as I have been told - the best way to learn the fastest is to fish with someone who A) knows what they are doing and B) knows the streams!

Any help, advice or contacts would be greatly appreciated.

Kind Regards,

James Leach

Hi James
    Why dont you join the WPFFA, it is the competitive side of fly fishing,
    We welcome all newbies, and you will learn so much.
    if you are interested, let me know'
    if not, no problem, we can still go and catch some fish.
    Korrie Broos
    Korrie Broos

Don't go knocking on Death's door, ring the bell and run like hell. He hates it. (anon)
    Nymphing, adds depth to your fly fishing.