Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: How do you catch leervis on clousers and deceivers !?

Question How do you catch leervis on clousers and deceivers !?

This is a callout to those accomplished leervis tamers out there.

I've pretty much only caught leervis on poppers and flippers/gurglers

and I so badly want to hook into a decent size fish and am running out of time this holiday
    I'm at witsand breede river and the westerly is howling but that does not put me off and hopefully not the fish either.
    The water temp has just dropped substantially from being very warm to I guess about 25C

Please share any advise on fishing clousers and deceivers for these fish.
    And if you would be so gracious as to share a few locations apart from the sandbank in the middle opposite hotel.

Any advice is welcome as I am no expert but have all the aspirations of becoming one :P

" Men and fish wouldn't get into trouble if they kept their mouths shut" - Jimmy D. Moore

Quote Originally Posted by hairyleery View Post
    I've pretty much only caught leervis on poppers and flippers/gurglers
    Stay with what works. Bigger if you can cast them.

Quote Originally Posted by hairyleery View Post
    The water temp has just dropped substantially from being very warm to I guess about 25C
    Shouldn't be too much of an issue if the water temp stays constant for a few days. First and last light are superior times. Falling tides are good - when the baitfish are forced away from shelter in the shallow margins.
    The highest form of existence is play.

Hi Dylan

Go and look for a Facebook group called Witsand Leerie Friends. The guys post regular updates of their catches and they don't mind sharing information. That should sort out the when and where......

As for flies..... Bigger is better but it doesn't have to be longer than six inches or thereabouts. Surface flies not only call fish from further away, they also create the impression of a far bigger baitfish.

Good luck!!!

MC