Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Tasmania

Default Tasmania

G'day all,

I'm off to Tasmania at the end of the month for two weeks. Got a Camper booked, departing Hobart on the 3rd of November 2014. My wife wants to do the touristy things and I want to do as much fishing as possible. As I'm a beginner, hooked big time to this fantastic sport, any advice on where to go to, where to fish and whom and what to see will be very much appreciated. I would like to do some still water and river/stream fishing. I own a 10', 4 weight rod and reel with intermediate line and a 9', 6 weight rod and reel with a floating line. A few questions though....
    • What rods and reels to take? What weight? Float, intermediate or sinking lines? Suggestions please.
    • What fly's? I want to get fly's made up for me before I go.
    • Waders and boots required? If required, what brand and who from?
    • Would it be better to buy any outstanding equipment in Tasmania or would it be better to buy it in South Africa beforehand? It seems that fly fishing equipment in Tasmania is very expensive.

I've used "Google" as much as possible but can't find the answers. Any help and or advice would be appreciated. Only 21 sleeps before we depart.

Thanking you in advance.

Regards,

Sam.
    Last edited by Sam_981; 12-10-14 at 06:23 PM.

Hi Sam

Distances are not huge in Tassie. With a campervan you can do fishing either early or late and drive around sight seeing in the middle of the day when fishing will be slower.
    You can be a tourist at Port Arthur in the morning and then fishing streams around Launceston in the afternoon It's awesome.

Weather is extremely variable - you can't rule out snow - I've had snow in February in Tassie.

Go into fly shops, ask them to sell you some flies and where to go fishing. The flies will be expensive compared to South Africa but the advice will be gold.