Page 1 of 8 12345678 LastLast

Thread: Another "Which rod should I buy?" thread

Default Another "Which rod should I buy?" thread

I am looking at buying two new Sage rods and was hoping for some guidance... Note: I can't test any of the rods before and I will be buying Sage.

I've fished a lot with a 5wt XP and really enjoy that rod so you get the kind of action I like.

I'm looking for 2 rods:

A 5wt for the Eastern Cape stillwaters (Winterberg and Stormberg areas)

A 2 or 3wt for rivers around the Barkly / Rhodes areas for trout and yellows. (I'm completely new to river fishing so I have no idea what to look for here)

For the 5wt I was thinking a 9ft Sage One or Method. Which of the two would you recommend?

For the 2 or 3wt, well which Sage would you recommend for my application?

Thanks,

Ranger
    Stealth, Scott, Sage
    Xplorer, Tibor

For the 5WT the Method is a wild stick, you just need to be prepared to upline it to get reasonable performance out of it, they are really really really stiff sticks and if you're looking for a multi-functionate (dry fly and streamers) I think the One might be a better choice considering your familiarity with the XP. The Method is a canon.
    "Hierdie drol het baie vlieŽ" - Ago 2014.

For the rivers #3 ESN. 10"
    Lovely rod for nymphing, a good rod for dry fly. The 10" gives you the reach.
    when the rivers a bit high the #2 will be a bit light.
    When the rivers are low, the #2 will perfect.
    The basic is that you can do more with the #3 than with the #2.

For the still waters I would go for the One. but in 10".
    When the rivers in Eastern Cape is high, it will be suitable for river fishing as well.
    Korrie Broos

Don't go knocking on Death's door, ring the bell and run like hell. He hates it. (anon)
    Nymphing, adds depth to your fly fishing.
    Nymphing, is fly fishing in another dimension

4. Default

Quote Originally Posted by Korrie View Post
    For the rivers #3 ESN. 10"