Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast

Thread: For Darryl and other photographers

Default For Darryl and other photographers

Hi Darryl and any other photography buffs that might be reading this and would like to comment.

I recall you gave me some very valuable crit a while back on a photo I had taken in April. Last weekend I took a bunch more pics, the best of which I have uploaded to the gallery on the main page.

When you get a chance, would you mind taking a look and see if I've improved at all ?

Cheers,

Shaun

Hi Shaun,
    First of all, very good-looking fish dude!
    Ok look I'm no pro big shot photographer, but I had photography as a subject for 3 years and then motion picture in my 4th year studies, all hands on practical & theory. Good-looking pic the only downfall it has is the highlight on your hand - it distracts the viewer from the subject matter or focal point. It would also have been better if your hand framed the hand on the 3rd of the pic, see now it is "falling off" the composition. I'd say if the light were coming from the opposite direction (fish’s head) it would have been stunning.

Open crit.
    No PAIN No Gain

Quote Originally Posted by Nymph+O- View Post
    Hi Shaun,
    First of all, very good-looking fish dude!
    Ok look I'm no pro big shot photographer, but I had photography as a subject for 3 years and then motion picture in my 4th year studies, all hands on practical & theory. Good-looking pic the only downfall it has is the highlight on your hand - it distracts the viewer from the subject matter or focal point. It would also have been better if your hand framed the hand on the 3rd of the pic, see now it is "falling off" the composition. I'd say if the light were coming from the opposite direction (fish’s head) it would have been stunning.

Open crit.

Thanks dude, I gather you're talking about the last pic. Would you mind taking a look at the rest, there's about 10 or so. Or maybe I should post them in this thread.

Number 1