Thread: Kenton and Vleesbaai

Default Kenton and Vleesbaai

Hey guys

It's been a long time since I've visited the forum. Looking for some advice.

I have limited experience in salt water fly-fishing.

I have a 7wt outfit with floating, intermediate and sinking lines (my largemouth yellow setup). I also have a 9wt outfit (just short the line...)

I'm heading down to Kenton-on-sea in a few days time. Visiting a mate. Have one day to fish (if I push it, I can work in two afternoons...) Need to make the most of it! My mate is not a fisherman so I need your advice. Which river to fish? Boesmans or Kariega? Spots? Tides? Which species to target? Flies? Tactics?

After Kenton I am off to Vleesbaai. I know the rock & surf guys talk highly of the 'saal' and other areas. Are there any good spots for fly fishing? Worst case I'll have to pull out the dropshot rod, but I would prefer to keep it in the car...

Any advice much appreciated!

Cheers
    Jacques

was there in December, did not fish much but found some (small) Garrick in the Bushman's around the mouth area on the falling tide (almost at low tide). Fishing was generally quite tough though with not alot of action / fish activity.
    ---------------------------------------------
    http://wildjohannesburg.blogspot.com

for Vleesbaai, try the gouritz river where the R325 road crosses the river, downstream a km or so, or right at the bridge, lots of small leeries to a kilo and then further downstream on east bank some cliffs with deep water and kob
    "Only when the last tree has died,and the last river has been poisoned,and the last fish has been caught,will we realize that we cannot eat money" - 19th Century Indian Creed

Fish Gourits at the bridge for Leeries. Think it is your best bet for Salt FF. The coast line, die Saal etc. is good for R&S but I think you will waste time to try and FF.

You might also try at Gourits mouth area, but think the bridge will be better and easier.