Thread: Newbie

Default Newbie

Hi guys, Im a complete newbie (as a mater of fact I went flyfishing for the first time yesterday) and I enjoyed it tremendously. I went ti Dewdale Fly Fishery in Franchoek afrer sseing their website, and what a dissapointment. They advertise 8 dams and coaching so I thought I could start there, but when we got there there was only one dam and a lady that spents about 5min with you for R100. I set of on my own after renting kit and even though I didnt catch anything I still enjoyed it. If anyone saw me they would probably have laugthed their asses of, but what the hell, you got to learn somewhere.

Anyway. Im going to start looking for my own kit tommorow and would appreciate if anyone could give me some pointers in what to get that would suit a begiiner and not break my pocket. Also would like some information on places where I could go fishing while learning so that I dont upset the more experienced guys.

Thanks guys and hope to soon see some of you next to the water somewhere.

Morne

Blog Entries

Quote Originally Posted by Morne View Post
    Hi guys, Im a complete newbie (as a mater of fact I went flyfishing for the first time yesterday) and I enjoyed it tremendously. I went ti Dewdale Fly Fishery in Franchoek afrer sseing their website, and what a dissapointment. They advertise 8 dams and coaching so I thought I could start there, but when we got there there was only one dam and a lady that spents about 5min with you for R100. I set of on my own after renting kit and even though I didnt catch anything I still enjoyed it. If anyone saw me they would probably have laugthed their asses of, but what the hell, you got to learn somewhere.