Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Down Stream Fishing for Yellows

Default Down Stream Fishing for Yellows

In another thread Barbus13 mentioned that he fishes downstream for yellows in waters that others usually leave alone.
    I have no experience of downstream fishing with a fly at all. Does one just "feed" the flies down a rapid, and if so is there not a danger of drag or if the fly snags, the fly line "overtaking" the fly?
    Please help me get this picture clearer in mind
    It's not in the catching, it's in the learning something new.
    view albums at. http://www.flytalk.co.za/forum/album.php?u=659

Well, what I normally do is take just one fly, cause two will spoil the action. I normally take a #12-14 nymph, look for those glidish water, cast it out not more than 10-12 meters. then I leave it for 20sec, and pull it slighty just to feel if not snagging on grass or rocks. Fly normally moves in the first 30-50cm of surface water. Remember to have 3 or 4meters of line hanging beside you to absorb the strike. You can fish it like that, stationary, or you can do a really slow fig. 8 retrieve. Had left my fly like that for nearly ten minutes before strike comes, you could also put on a split shot 10cm up from fly if need be for stronger current or getting fly down. Same application for largie flies also.
    Dirk Human

Flyfishing for yellows...the most fun a man can have, with his clothes on, while standing up, holding a bar of gold in your hands.

Quote Originally Posted by Barbus13 View Post