Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: So many fly rods - HELP!

1. Question So many fly rods - HELP!

Hi everyone,

While I’m new to this forum, I'm not that new to fly fishing. I would however still consider myself to be a novice-to-intermediate angler. I’ve been fishing for about 4 years now but only get to enjoy the pleasures of this fine sport about 2/3 times a year. I'm looking to upgrade my rod to either a Stealth Magnum or the Xplorer Guide Series - both 5wt, 8.5/9 ft. I believe the Stealth is a fast action rod but I'm not sure what the Xplorer is. I think I'd prefer a mid-flex rod as it’s obviously the most versatile. Does anyone know what action the Xplorer is and in addition, would anyone be able to recommend either of the rods? Alternatively, would anyone be able to recommend another rod with the above specs in a similar price range?

Any help would be much appreciated.

i would reckon the explorer is a medium fast action.it is a good buy for the price.rather contact your local dealer and they could help.maybe even let you cast it before you buy it.
    stephen is wishing he was fishing location x right now.......

Stephen Smith

I have a Guide Series 7wt. It's very lekker. I've casted both and prefer the Guide to the magnum.

Everyone probably knows what I'm gonna say next but I'll say it anyway:

If you want a very lekker med-fast action rod, check out the Vision 3zone. It's a very lekker rod and at about a grand should be in the same price range as the other two rods.

for details and stockists check out www.pttrading.co.za

Another option is the TFO.

Give Terry at Fishing Owl a ring, he'll beable to point you in the right direction.
    27 011 894 4348
    www.fishingowl.co.za
    Daryl Human

The solution to any problem -- work, love, money, whatever -- is to go fishing, and the worse the problem, the longer the trip should be. --John Gierach

I would stick to the 9 foot rod, as it is more verisitile, and is generaly easier to get a bit more distance on.