Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread: "Fizzer" Caddis nymph - control fly #8 & #10

Default "Fizzer" Caddis nymph - control fly #8 & #10

Hi Guys

Thought you may find this interesting. I stumbled (quite by chance) on a good shell-back material last night...Fizzer Wrapping!
    I've been tying this pattern for many years, and now tried the fizzer's wrapping as shell back, and it works like a charm. Translucent, shiny, easy to work with...and if you have kids (or a sweet tooth) you have a great supply of this! This one is the "Cream Soda" flavour. I am sure the other flavours will have uses too. This is a great yellowfish pattern, and the first fly I tie on when fishing the Vaal. This colour, or a ginger and brown one. I see in this months' TCFF there is a similar pattern too.

Here's the pattern:

HOOK: #8, #10 Scud Hook, heavy wire, debarbed
    THREAD: 8/0 Olive or Black
    WEIGHT: 0.025 lead wire, full wrap around shank
    BEADHEAD: 4mm Brass, or Tungsten Bead
    SHELLBACK: Beacon's "Fizzer" wrapping, Cream Soda
    FLASH RIBBING: Green crystal flash
    RIBBING: 4X tippet
    ABDOMEN: Mixture of Chartreuse Ice Dubbing and Light Olive SLF, with some chopped up flash in too. (Experiment!)
    THORAX: Black Super Brite Dubbing
    Use Copec black permanent marker to darken thorax area on top.

STEP ONE:
    Cut a small piece of shell back from the FIZZER wrapping as shown, about 5mm wide. Make a "V" cut in the one side, to ease the tie in later.

STEP TWO:
    Mount your hook, wrap the lead wire on, and start your thread.

STEP THREE:
    Tie in the 4X tippet first, and then the strand of green crystal flash.

STEP FOUR:
    Tie in the piece of Fizzer shell back yuo cut out, as shown, It will have a natural tendency to "curve" when cut from the wrapper, make sure the curve is to the sides, it will finish the fly off better.

STEP FIVE: