Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Algae Fly for Mullet!?

Red face Algae Fly for Mullet!?

Howzit guys. I'm VERY new to the saltwater fly scene and heard recently of an algae fly tied with olive marabou that works well for mullet. Anyone know anything about it, how to tie it etc?
    Trout are as much a part of South Africa as the oak trees are of Stellenbosch – not to be planted in wilderness areas where they do not already occur, but to be valued where they are established.

Easy really.

Take a streamer hook, tie in some olive/snot coloured marabour as a tail, then dub the marabou by spinning it around your thread to the hook eye, whip finish & voila. What also works is to ad a bit of foam on the hook shank prior to doing the body out of marabou. This helps with getting a neutral density fly which doesn't sink too fast. I've seen that if your fly is dragging on the bottom they give it a fat ignore.

You can also tie the shaggy shrimp in similar colours or even tie it in pink, basically the same design, just add two stems of burnt mono facing the hook bend after tying in the tail.

I'm sorry to have to say it, but the bread fly, as ethically dubious as it may be, is probably still the easiest way to catch mullet on fly.
    "Hierdie drol het baie vlieë" - Ago 2014.

Quote Originally Posted by Scythe View Post
    Easy really.

Take a streamer hook, tie in some olive/snot coloured marabour as a tail, then dub the marabou by spinning it around your thread to the hook eye, whip finish & voila. What also works is to ad a bit of foam on the hook shank prior to doing the body out of marabou. This helps with getting a neutral density fly which doesn't sink too fast. I've seen that if your fly is dragging on the bottom they give it a fat ignore.

You can also tie the shaggy shrimp in similar colours or even tie it in pink, basically the same design, just add two stems of burnt mono facing the hook bend after tying in the tail.