Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Sonstraal and the Law

Unhappy Sonstraal and the Law

Got klapped with a R30 fine at Sonstraal yesterday. R30 for a nice afternoons fishing and a 2kg carp on fly is actually not bad. Apparently all that can happen is a consequent R30 fine if I get caught again. I gave my true details to the officer (which was very cool guy just doing his job) but I hate doing things out side the law. But where else is sighted fishing so good for carp, and the bug has really bitten me badly. I am an Environmental Consultant and believe my impact and footprint is minimal. The pap gooiers has buggered it up for every one (sorry to generalize) but I had to take hooks out of ducks beaks before and seen guys throwing stones at the ducks to get them away from floating bread with hooks in resulting in the above. Is there anyway we can lobby this; else I might just have to keep paying my 30 bucks every now and then. Any opinions on this?

Cheers

R

Im stay in JHB and dont know the Cape too well, is sonstraal a municipal water? Is it protected or something?

From the title I thought the story was going to be related to a female and some obscure deeds

Where is Sonstraal (other than outside on a sunny day)?
    Barend Esterhuizen Pr Eng

"But engineering isn't about perfect solutions; it's about doing the best you can with limited resources."
    The last lecture, Randy Pausch

What was the fine for, and which department issued it?

First time that I heard of a fine issued. Sonstraal is a municipal dam in that fall under the Durbanville Municipality. A moratorium was placed on all fishing due to the water quality issues and fishermen getting the blame for it's current state.(Not that 200+ geese sh1tting all over the place messed it up in the first place!)
    Rudolph
    No matter how busy you may think you are, you must find time for reading, or surrender yourself to self-chosen ignorance.
    Confucius