Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Dullstroom over Easter

Default Dullstroom over Easter

Hi All, Going to Greystone Lodge where they have a nice well stocked spring fed dam. I am very new at fly fishing and have already received some advice from the forum on casting accuracy. I am looking for some beginner advice on what flies to use and am so confused with all that is available. Any pointers please?

Thanks in advance

Quote Originally Posted by Stiffler View Post
    Hi All, Going to Greystone Lodge where they have a nice well stocked spring fed dam. I am very new at fly fishing and have already received some advice from the forum on casting accuracy. I am looking for some beginner advice on what flies to use and am so confused with all that is available. Any pointers please?

Thanks in advance
    I would suggest getting a copy of Barends (trout master) concise waterside guide book. Its very inexpensive and will give you more than enough info.
    "All you need is ignorance and confidence and the success is sure." - Mark Twain

Two words - woolly bugger - in olive green, brown and black

Mrs Simpson / Walkers killer

Fish them deep and slow

Hi Stiffler, I am going to be just down the road from you on a farm called 3 Oaks. I was there last year round about this time of the year as well.
    The following flies worked well for me.

Any Damsel Paterns - Red eyed damsels, Filoplume Damsels etc.
    Woolybuggers
    Zonkers
    Strip leeches
    Grhe's

These were fished mostly on an intermediate line about a meter down. Flies were mostly Olive(Damsels, zonkers and woolybuggers), But the Mpumalanga speedcop woolybugger's are also a year round favourite(Black with a bit of blue flash in them). These flies I mostly fished from about 10am till about 4 pm.

Before and after that I mostly used dries.

DDD
    Hoppers
    Adams

And though not considered a dry fly in the late afternoon a white death on a floating line. Seemed to be a killer.

Hope this helps.

Regards