Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Vaal Hoppers...

Default Vaal Hoppers...

Hi guys,

I’m going to fish the Vaal tomorrow, I will mainly focus on targeting SM on a dry and dropper approach but will also have my LM arsenal ready. I tied a few Hoppers in cream, yellow and black colours and never tried them before on the Vaal… I would like to know from the Hopper experts how do you fish this pattern effectively in winter?

Cheers

Dirk

Quote Originally Posted by dleroux View Post
    Hi guys,

I’m going to fish the Vaal tomorrow, I will mainly focus on targeting SM on a dry and dropper approach but will also have my LM arsenal ready. I tied a few Hoppers in cream, yellow and black colours and never tried them before on the Vaal… I would like to know from the Hopper experts how do you fish this pattern effectively in winter?

Cheers

Dirk
    First of all......I'm not an expert!

..........but you can fish them like any dry to sighted fish. Dead drift works the best for me. I tried a hopper last weekend, small light brown Webs hopper, the fish do go up to it and bump it with the nose, but thats it. I think you better off throwing small May imitations.

Wouldn't!

Might get a reaction strike if you cast to sighted fish; but I would cast klinkies.

Good luck.

Winter is not big season for Hoppers. It's cold and they are sluggish, you won't see a lot jumping around. I would go for something else.

I find the fish refuse the Vaal caddis in winter.

The problem with hoppers and SM is that people build them to be too buoyant, your hopper should basically ride about 80% submerged with only the top foam wing which is folded over the DH wing (or whatever wing you're using) If you see them bumping your fly or missing it, they're sucking it down but not hard enough to make your fly dunk. They're used to sucking down MF, which don't take a lot of sucking to get into their mouth. (I told you this much a long time ago CJ, when you posted your hopper)