Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread: Circel hooks and yellows

Default Circel hooks and yellows

Hey guys, im not a pro at FF so this might seem like a "dof" question.
    I see a lot of self tied flies are done on Circle hooks, now my understanding of a circel hook is that the fish swallow the bait/fly/hook, now the angle doesnt strike but only tighten the line and the hook slides out of the fish's throaght and gets set in the corner of the mouth....ok now the questions, when fishing for yellows, using an strike indicator, seeing the indication disappearing, I strike....how will the circel hook set if I strike?

regards
    ian

Quote Originally Posted by bekkerian View Post
    Hey guys, im not a pro at FF so this might seem like a "dof" question.
    I see a lot of self tied flies are done on Circle hooks, now my understanding of a circel hook is that the fish swallow the bait/fly/hook, now the angle doesnt strike but only tighten the line and the hook slides out of the fish's throaght and gets set in the corner of the mouth....ok now the questions, when fishing for yellows, using an strike indicator, seeing the indication disappearing, I strike....how will the circel hook set if I strike?

regards
    ian
    I don't use circle hooks when nymphing for yellows on the Vaal...for the same reason you state. As you strike, most of the time you just pull the hook out of the fish's mouth. Normal scud hooks are way more effective when indicator fishing for yellows.

That makes sense and that has been my experience as well.

Here's another interesting one...

What about the use of circles (if you can find them small enough) on dry flies?
    When a fish turns on a dry would it hook itself?
    Has anyone tried this?
    Bryan Williams

“My Biggest worry is that my wife will sell my fishing gear for what I said I paid for it!”

Check out my albums

Quote Originally Posted by Williaby View Post
    That makes sense and that has been my experience as well.