Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: yellows???

Question yellows???

hi im new to this and if you can help me with info on gourits river it would be
    apreciated. my familly have a farm next to the river and i would like try my luck.flies? aproach? any info please, thanks.

Howzit, Pottie!
    Welcome to Fly Talk!
    Go to the home page, Click on Fly Tying, and under Freshwater Flies, search for Henkie Altena's Gamka Nymph. That fly catches everything that swims in the Gouritz, and is the mainstay for the yellows.
    I must say, reading the words "my family has a farm next to the river" makes my skin crawl with jealousy, man! Do you actually live in the area?

Cheers,
    LeRoy

Smile

hi leroy
    no i live in durbanville, but take every opp to go visit, the yellows that is.
    thanks for the help.

Cool

The great Gold (Yellow) rush started when Keith and Garth wrote their article in TCFF highlighting that yellows eat immitative patterns like MF nymphs and caddisses and not just TVN's & killer patterns MRs Simpson etc.

So have a look at the aquatic invertebrate in the river and try to immitate them.

You can even KILL a yellowfish and examine the stomach contents. They are actually an invasive specie. Smallmouth Yellowfish do not occur naturally in that watershed. Fortunately they're not as destructive as other species e.g. catfish in Theewaterskloof.

If you need more help I will be in Sedgefiled during November and early December 2007. We can try crack the code together

Carl
    http://yellowsonfly.blogspot.com/

Smile

hi carl
    my cell no 0783117560, contact me when you are in sedge maybe we can
    get together.

Are you talking about yellowfish in the Gourits near Mosselbay? If so, tell me more

Hi guys.